SCC Press Release

SCCAA Distinguished Alumni Nominations Due Aug 1


Nominations for Southeastern Community College's 2010 Distinguished Alumni awards will be accepted through Friday, August 1, 2009.

The Distinguished Alumni Award was established by the Southeastern Community College Alumni Association to recognize and honor alumni of SCC or its predecessor colleges (Burlington Junior College, Burlington Community College, & Keokuk Community College) who have achieved substantial public recognition for their accomplishments or successes. To be eligible for nomination, each nominee should have:

Earned 30 credit hours at Southeastern Community College (or predecessor) or was considered a full-time student for two semesters, and

1. Earned the respect and trust of his/her associates in his/her chosen field, or

2. Made substantial contributions to the good of his/her fellow human beings or be recognized as an outstanding practitioner of his/her profession or vocation, or

3. Served as a motivational force for others in a positive manner.

The Distinguished Alumni award has been in place since 1997. Awardees have included Dr. Edward Stone, Wayne Duke, Clifford Lloyd Yohe, LeRoy Pease, brothers John, Phillip and David Linquist, Dick Wagner, Gary Graham, Sally Beaird, Dr. Donn Brolin, Carol Will, Bill Madlock, brothers Charles, Richard and Robert Matsch, Milton Meuler, Michael Dunn, Richard Loghry, Dr. Eugene Shaw, Tom Haas, Dr. Patt Dodds, Dr. Paula Willoughby DeJesus, Dr. Cindy Murphy, Nancy Hodson and James Engle.

The Alumni Association selects Distinguished Alumni Award winners annually at its regular August board meeting.

Nominations must be submitted online by August 1 at For more information about SCC Distinguished Alumni program or the SCC Alumni Association, including the new Nursing Alumni Chapter, contact Becky Rump at or (319) 208-5065 or go to

To subscribe to SCC's RSS news feed or to learn more about Southeastern Community College, visit:





Back to top